The 10 Biggest Long Shot Winners in Belmont Stakes History

Posted by Evan Chronis on Dec 4, 2019 4:00:00 PM

When Sir Winston crossed the finish line first at the 151st running of the Belmont Stakes in June, the 3-year old colt was applauded for his performance as a 10-1 long shot. 

While the Mark Casse-trained steed was far from the favorite entering the 2019 "Test of the Champion", his conquest at Belmont Park was far from the biggest upset in the storied race's history.

In anticipation of the 2020 Belmont Stakes taking off from Elmont, New York on June 6, we're breaking down the 10 biggest long shots in Belmont Stakes history. 

Belmont Stakes Crowd Belmont Park

Biggest Long Shot Winners in Belmont Stakes History






1 Sarava 70.25-1 Edgar Prado Kenneth McPeek
2 Sherluck 65.05-1 Braulio Baeza Harold Young
3 Temperence Hill 53.4-1 Eddie Maple Joseph B. Cantey
4 Da'Tara 38-1 Alan Garcia Nick Zito
5 Birdstone 36-1 Edgar Prado Nick Zito
6 Pass Catcher 34.5-1 Walter Blum Eddie Yowell
7 Lemon Drop Kid 29.75-1 Jose Santos Scotty Schulhofer
8 Ruler on Ice 24-1 Jose Valdivia Jr. Kelly Breen
9 Commendable 18.8-1 Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
10 Creator 15-1 Irad Ortiz Jr. Steve Asmussen

Will a Long Shot Take the 2020 Belmont Stakes?

Only time will tell, but you can be at Belmont Park for the historic 152nd running of the Belmont Stakes with an Official Ticket Package from Belmont Experiences. Packages comes with a 2-Day ticket to Belmont Park (June 5-6), hospitality access at the premier locations around the track, exclusive experiences and much more. 

Click below to see all available packages.

2020 Belmont Stakes Packages